• Electronic Product
  • Major Appliances
  • Mobile phone
  • Clean Household Appliances
  • Smart Appliances
  • English
HomeClean Household Appliances → Use, price, washing... Eight practical questions about the FFP2 mask, more effective against Covid-19
Use, price, washing... Eight practical questions about the FFP2 mask, more effective against Covid-19

Use, price, washing... Eight practical questions about the FFP2 mask, more effective against Covid-19

In the closet, the surgical mask? The High Council of Public Health must soon issue an opinion on the generalization of the FFP2 mask. These masks, some of which have the shape of a duckbill, more filtering, could be an asset against the Omicron variant of Covid-19, much more contagious than its predecessors. Some countries have also decided to impose it in public places, such as Italy, Austria or Greece. Franceinfo takes stock of this protection, which is increasingly used by the general public.

1Is it more effective than a surgical or fabric mask?

Yes. It fits closer to the face than other types of masks, so it doesn't gape at the sides. It is also more filtering: it protects against the inhalation of droplets, like other masks, but also against that of particles suspended in the air. Composed of a facepiece and a filtration device, it offers its users a filtering capacity of 94% of fine and toxic particles of 0.6 micrometers.

According to a study (in English) by researchers from the universities of Göttingen (Germany) and Cornell (United States), if two people wear a correctly positioned FFP2 mask, the maximum risk of contamination between them is only 0.4%, even if they spend an hour together, compared to 30% for two people wearing surgical masks. The result is similar to authorized fabric masks, since the latter have a "close level of protection", or slightly "higher depending on the model, to that offered by surgical masks", according to the standardization body Afnor.

The National Institute for Research and Security (INRS) specifies that the FFP2 mask can be worn for eight hours, i.e. the average duration of a working day, compared to four hours for the other models.

FFP2 masks which contain graphene, a material widely used in electronics for its resistance and conductivity, must however be avoided as a precaution, due to a lack of data on the toxicity of this synthetic material, recommends the health security agency Anses .

2In which places is it advisable to wear an FFP2 mask?

In the hospital, the FFP2 mask is already used, in particular in the services receiving patients with Covid-19, in intensive care or in the surgical block. In anticipation of the end of year celebrations, the Scientific Council (PDF file) had also recommended it for "the most fragile or unvaccinated people, as soon as possible".

For the rest of the population, FFP2 masks are useful "when you really have a high risk of contagion, for example in transport with little or no ventilation or closed places", according to Philippe Amouyel, epidemiologist and professor of public health at the University Hospital. from Lille. On the other hand, no use "when you walk in the street", he believes.

“If everyone correctly wore a surgical or general public fabric mask, this would already significantly reduce the risk of contagion”, also estimates Didier Lepelletier, head of the hospital hygiene department of the Nantes University Hospital and expert from the High Council of Health. public.

3How much does it cost?

Its effectiveness comes at a price. Individually, an FFP2 mask is generally between two and six times more expensive than a surgical mask. It is often necessary to count around 50 to 60 cents per FFP2 mask for an individual and between 30 and 40 cents for bulk orders from health professionals. But its price varies greatly depending on the type of sign.

The FFP2s are thus sold for 4.52 euros per box of 20 at Intermarché, or 23 cents per mask, the brand announced in early January, which specifies that this is the “cost price”.

A price barely lower than that charged in "Carrefour hypermarkets and supermarkets", where "the box of twenty" masks will cost you "4.90 euros", or only 24 cents per mask", notes Capital, in a comparison. In "all Leclercs in France, boxes of 20 FFP2 are offered to you at 7.90 euros, or 40 cents per mask", also details the newspaper, against "14.90 euros" at Franprix for "a similar box".

In pharmacies too, the differences are significant. Count "between 40 cents and 80 cents per mask" on average in pharmacies, according to the estimate for Capital by Philippe Besset, president of the Federation of Pharmaceutical Unions of France. Price variations which are explained by "the margin" that the brand or the pharmacy wants to make, but also by "the quantity of products purchased from suppliers and at what prices", according to Yolande Piris, distribution specialist, interviewed by the magazine. The more it buys in bulk, the lower the cost price and therefore the price displayed on the label.

Note that unlike its cousin the surgical mask, the law does not provide that the FFP2 mask can be distributed free of charge to people in precarious, vulnerable, Covid-19 positive or contact cases.

4Will there be enough for everyone?

“There is no shortage” in the supply of FFP2 masks, assured Gabriel Attal, the government spokesperson, in early January on France Inter. "Supply channels are working," he added. A "state stock of masks has been replenished", with "several hundred million FFP2 masks", he said. The Directorate General for Health affirmed in January 2021 to LCI that Public Health France had in its possession – in addition to the stocks managed by the establishments – 406 million FFP2 masks, “i.e. 203% of the target stock corresponding to three weeks of epidemic crisis ".

A quantity which could nevertheless prove to be insufficient if these masks were to be imposed on a long-term basis by the government. The manufacture of FFP2 masks was almost at a standstill between April and October, "with a drop in production of around 90%" compared to 2020, underlines Christian Curel, the president of the union of F2M mask manufacturers on BFMTV . The number of jobs in the sector, estimated at 10,000, has even been "halved", especially in the face of Chinese competition. Local manufacturers – now 32 in number, compared to 4 at the start of the health crisis – now claim to be able to produce 20 to 25 million per week, according to France 2.

5How to wear it well?

The FFP2 mask must cover the nose, mouth and chin. To check that the mask is properly put on, the National Institute for Research and Security (INRS), advises to check its tightness by covering "the filtering surface of the mask using a plastic sheet held in place with both hands. ". As you inhale, "the mask should smash slightly into the face." “If the mask does not flatten, it is not waterproof and it must be readjusted (…) Once adjusted, do not touch the mask with your hands and do not place it in the waiting position under the chin or on the forehead, to avoid contaminating the inside of the mask", also recalls the INRS.

Its wearing is more unpleasant than that of a fabric or surgical mask due to "thermal discomfort", and "respiratory resistance", warns ANSES. In addition, FFP2 masks are not suitable for all morphologies. A study carried out on caregivers from several countries, and published in September 2020 in the medical journal Anaesthesia, thus revealed that FFP2 and FFP3 masks could be correctly applied by 95% of men, but only 85% of women. Also, the masks were suitable for 90% of white people, compared to 84% of people of Asian descent. The proportion was particularly low, 60% on average, for Asian women.

6Can we wash it?

According to the manufacturers, these are single-use masks. Nevertheless, and like surgical masks, FFP2 masks can be reused if they are put in the washing machine and in the dryer, assures UFC-Que Choisir. According to tests carried out by the consumer association, the performance of FFP2 masks remains the same after ten washes at 60°C and as many drying cycles.

"Our conclusions are not valid for use in a medical environment, where the surrounding bacterial load would require, at a minimum, a disinfection phase", nevertheless tempers the association.

7It seems that it is not compatible with the beard. It's true ?

No mask is suitable for a full beard. This is even truer with FFP2 masks, which are normally more fitted to the face than other masks. To maximize its effectiveness, it is therefore advisable to shave, or wear a thin beard.

Last spring, the firefighters of Indre-et-Loire were ordered to shave their beards and mustaches to optimize the adhesion of the FFP2 masks to their faces, reported France 3.

8I thought I had bought an FFP2 mask but in fact it is a KN95. Is it the same?

Yes, these are similar masks, with equivalent protection. The difference lies in the origin of the standards to which they meet: the FFP2 mask corresponds to the European standard NF EN149, while the KN95 meets the GB2626-2006 standard, in force in China and South Korea, recalls a document. of French customs (PDF).

• Electronic Product
  • major appliances
  • Mobile phone
  • Clean household appliances
  • Smart appliances
  • French
AccueilClean household appliances → Utilisation, prix, lavage... Huit questions pratiques sur le masque FFP2, plus efficace contre le Covid-19
Utilisation, prix, lavage... Huit questions pratiques sur le masque FFP2, plus efficace contre le Covid-19

Utilisation, prix, lavage... Huit questions pratiques sur le masque FFP2, plus efficace contre le Covid-19

Au placard, le masque chirurgical ? Le Haut Conseil de la Santé publique doit bientôt rendre un avis sur la généralisation du masque FFP2. Ces masques dont certains ont la forme d'un bec de canard, plus filtrants, pourraient être un atout face au variant Omicron du Covid-19, bien plus contagieux que ses prédécesseurs. Certains pays ont d'ailleurs décidé de l'imposer dans les lieux publics, comme l'Italie, l'Autriche ou la Grèce. Franceinfo fait le point sur cette protection de plus en plus utilisée par le grand public.

1Est-il plus efficace que le masque chirurgical ou en tissu ?

Oui. Il est plus ajusté sur le visage que les autres types de masques, et ne baille donc pas sur les côtés. Il est également plus filtrant : il protège contre l'inhalation de gouttelettes, comme les autres masques, mais aussi contre celle des particules en suspension dans l'air. Composé d'une pièce faciale et d'un dispositif de filtration, il offre à ses utilisateurs une capacité filtrante de 94% des particules fines et toxiques de 0,6 micromètre.

Selon une étude (en anglais) des chercheurs des universités de Göttingen (Allemagne) et de Cornell (Etats-Unis), si deux personnes portent un masque FFP2 correctement positionné, le risque maximum de contamination entre elles est de seulement 0,4%, même si elles passent une heure ensemble, contre 30% pour deux personnes portant des masques chirurgicaux. Le résultat est semblable face aux masques en tissus autorisés, puisque ces derniers ont un "niveau de protection proche", ou légèrement "supérieur selon les modèles, à celui proposé par des masques chirurgicaux", selon l'organisme de normalisation Afnor.

L'Institut national de recherche et de sécurité (INRS) précise que le masque FFP2 peut être porté pendant huit heures, soit la durée moyenne d'une journée de travail, contre quatre heures pour les autres modèles.

Les masques FFP2 qui contiennent du graphène, un matériau très utilisé dans l'électronique pour sa résistance et sa conductivité, doivent en revanche être évités par précaution, faute de données sur la toxicité de ce matériau synthétique, recommande l'agence de sécurité sanitaire Anses.

2Dans quels endroits est-il conseillé de porter un masque FFP2 ?

A l’hôpital, le masque FFP2 est déjà utilisé, notamment dans les services accueillant des malades du Covid-19, en réanimation ou au bloc chirurgical. En prévision des fêtes de fin d'année, le Conseil scientifique (fichier PDF) l'avait également recommandé pour "les personnes les plus fragiles ou non vaccinées, dès que cela est possible".

Pour le reste de la population, les masques FFP2 sont utiles "quand on a vraiment un risque de contagion fort, par exemple dans les transports peu ou pas ventilés ou les lieux clos", selon Philippe Amouyel, épidémiologiste et professeur de santé publique au CHU de Lille. En revanche, aucune utilité "quand on se balade dans la rue", estime-t-il.

"Si tout le monde portait correctement un masque chirurgical ou grand public en tissu, cela réduirait déjà nettement le risque de contagion", estime aussi Didier Lepelletier, chef de service d'hygiène hospitalière du CHU de Nantes et expert du Haut Conseil de la santé publique.

3Combien coûte-t-il ?

Son efficacité a un prix. A l'unité, un masque FFP2 est en général entre deux et six fois plus onéreux qu'un masque chirurgical. Il faut souvent compter en effet environ 50 à 60 centimes le masque FFP2 pour un particulier et entre 30 et 40 centimes pour les commandes en gros des professionnels de santé. Mais son prix varie grandement selon le type d'enseigne.

Les FFP2 sont ainsi vendus 4,52 euros la boîte de 20 chez Intermarché, soit 23 centimes le masque, a annoncé début janvier l'enseigne, qui précise qu'il s'agit du "prix coûtant".

Un prix à peine inférieur à celui pratiqué dans "les hypermarchés et supermarchés Carrefour", où "la boîte de vingt" masques vous en coûtera "4,90 euros", soit seulement 24 centimes le masque", note Capital, dans un comparatif. Dans "tous les Leclerc de France, les boîtes de 20 FFP2 vous sont proposées à 7,90 euros, soit 40 centimes le masque", détaille aussi le journal, contre "14,90 euros" chez Franprix pour "une boîte similaire".

En pharmacie aussi, les écarts sont importants. Comptez "entre 40 centimes et 80 centimes par masque" en moyenne dans les officines, selon l'estimation pour Capital de Philippe Besset, président de la Fédération des syndicats pharmaceutiques de France. Des variations de prix qui s'expliquent par "la marge" que veut faire l'enseigne ou la pharmacie, mais aussi par "la quantité de produits achetés aux fournisseurs et à quels prix", selon Yolande Piris, spécialiste de la distribution, interrogée par le magazine. Plus celle-ci achète en gros, et moins le coût de revient et par conséquent le prix affiché sur l'étiquette sont élevés.

A noter que contrairement à son cousin le masque chirurgical, la loi ne prévoit pas que le masque FFP2 puisse être distribué gratuitement aux personnes précaires, vulnérables, positives au Covid-19 ou cas contact.

4Y en aura-t-il assez pour tout le monde ?

"Il n'y a aucune pénurie" dans l'approvisionnement des masques FFP2, a assuré Gabriel Attal, le porte-parole du gouvernement, début janvier sur France Inter. "Les circuits d'approvisionnement fonctionnent", a-t-il ajouté. Un "stock d'Etat de masques a été reconstitué", avec "plusieurs centaines de millions de masques FFP2", a-t-il déclaré. La direction générale de la santé affirmait en janvier 2021 à LCI que Santé publique France avait en sa possession – en plus des stocks gérés par les établissements – 406 millions de masques FFP2, "soit 203% du stock cible correspondant à trois semaines de crise épidémique".

Une quantité qui pourrait néanmoins se révéler insuffisante si ces masques venaient à être imposés durablement par le gouvernement. La fabrication des masques FFP2 a été quasiment à l'arrêt entre avril et octobre, "avec une chute de la production d'environ 90%" par rapport à 2020, souligne Christian Curel, le président du syndicat des fabricants de masques F2M sur BFMTV. Le nombre d'emplois de la filière, estimé à 10 000, a même été "divisé par deux", notamment face à la concurrence chinoise. Les industriels locaux – au nombre désormais de 32, contre 4 au début de la crise sanitaire – assurent désormais être capables d'en produire 20 à 25 millions par semaine, selon France 2.

5Comment bien le porter ?

Le masque FFP2 doit couvrir le nez, la bouche et le menton. Pour vérifier que le masque soit bien mis, l'Institut national de recherche et de sécurité (INRS), conseille d'en contrôler l’étanchéité en couvrant "la surface filtrante du masque en utilisant une feuille plastique maintenue en place avec les deux mains". Lorsque vous inspirez, "le masque doit s'écraser légèrement sur le visage". "Si le masque ne se plaque pas, c’est qu'il n'est pas étanche et il faut le réajuster (…) Une fois ajusté, ne plus toucher le masque avec les mains et ne pas le placer en position d'attente sous le menton ou sur le front, pour éviter de contaminer l'intérieur du masque", rappelle également l'INRS.

Son port est plus désagréable que celui d'un masque en tissu ou chirurgical en raison d'un "inconfort thermique", et d'une "résistance respiratoire", prévient l'Anses. Par ailleurs, les masques FFP2 ne sont pas adaptés à toutes les morphologies. Une étude réalisée sur des soignants de plusieurs pays, et parue en septembre 2020 dans la revue médicale Anaesthesia, révélait ainsi que les masques FFP2 et FFP3 pouvaient correctement être appliqués par 95% des hommes, mais seulement 85% des femmes. En outre, les masques convenaient à 90% des personnes blanches, contre 84% des personnes d'origine asiatique. La proportion était particulièrement basse, 60% en moyenne, pour les femmes asiatiques.

6Peut-on le laver ?

Selon les fabricants, il s'agit de masques à usages uniques. Néanmoins, et comme les masques chirurgicaux, les masques FFP2 peuvent être réutilisés s'ils sont passés en machine et au sèche-linge, assure l'UFC-Que Choisir. Selon des tests menés par l'association de consommateurs, les performances des masques FFP2 restent les mêmes après dix lavages à 60 °C et autant de séchages.

"Nos conclusions ne sont pas valables pour un usage en milieu médical, où la charge bactérienne environnante exigerait, a minima, une phase de désinfection", tempère néanmoins l'association.

7Il paraît qu'il n'est pas compatible avec la barbe. C'est vrai ?

Aucun masque n'est adapté à une barbe fournie. C'est encore plus vrai avec les masques FFP2, normalement plus ajustés sur le visage que les autres masques. Pour en maximiser l'efficacité, il est donc conseillé de se raser, ou de porter une barbe peu épaisse.

Au printemps dernier, les pompiers d'Indre-et-Loire avaient été sommés de raser barbes et moustaches pour optimiser l'adhérence des masques FFP2 sur leur visage, relatait France 3.

8Je pensais avoir acheté un masque FFP2 mais en fait c'est un KN95. Est-ce la même chose ?

Oui, il s'agit de masques semblables, à protection équivalente. La différence se situe dans l'origine des normes auxquelles ils répondent : le masque FFP2 correspond à la norme européenne NF EN149, tandis que le KN95 répond à la norme GB2626-2006, en vigueur en Chine et en Corée du Sud, rappelle un document des douanes françaises (PDF).