• Electronic Product
  • Major Appliances
  • Mobile phone
  • Clean Household Appliances
  • Smart Appliances
  • English
HomeMobile phone → Nomophobia, the fear of being separated from your cell phone
Nomophobia, the fear of being separated from your cell phone

Nomophobia, the fear of being separated from your cell phone

Do you check every few minutes that your smartphone is in your pocket? Are you lost if you go out without? Do you feel naked when your battery is empty? So maybe you are nomophobic

Nomophobia: the fear of “no mobile phone”

Recent contraction of "no mobile phone" and phobia, it would be a very real anxiety according to a study conducted in the United Kingdom by the polling institute YouGov in 2013. According to her, no less than 53% of mobile phone users show symptoms of anxiety when they lose their phone, forget it, have no network coverage or run out of battery. 55% of respondents said they needed to keep in touch with family or friends at all times. And 10% said they needed to be contactable at all times for their work.

Faced with the magnitude of the phenomenon, researchers at Iowa State University have developed a questionnaire to identify this nomophobia. Like the famous tobacco addiction questionnaire, scientists have developed around twenty questions to determine your threshold for cell phone addiction.

And you, if you didn't have your smartphone with you?

La nomophobie, la peur d’être séparé de son téléphone portable

By determining our degree of addiction, researchers hope to better understand whether there is a social, genetic or structural ground to our increasing addiction to cellphones.

Nomophobia would have four dimensions: not being able to communicate; lose connection; not being able to access information and giving up comfort. The researchers specify that nomophobia would be indicative not of a form of addiction, but of a neurosis.

Another study, conducted by Russell Clayton of the University of Missouri, clearly reveals that the small computers that are cell phones have become true extensions of ourselves, a phenomenon that increasing their capacity can only reinforce: they will soon be even faster, will have more memory, will be able to translate foreign languages ​​live, will be able to control ever more objects of our daily life, even our light bulbs and connected radiators...(1)

Clayton's research showed that participants in his work saw their anxiety levels, heart rate and blood pressure levels increase when they were disconnected from their mobile, and at the same time they felt psychologically diminished.

Read also: References:

• Electronic Product
  • major appliances
  • Mobile phone
  • Clean household appliances
  • Smart appliances
  • French
AccueilMobile phone → La nomophobie, la peur d’être séparé de son téléphone portable
La nomophobie, la peur d’être séparé de son téléphone portable

La nomophobie, la peur d’être séparé de son téléphone portable

Vous vérifiez toutes les quelques minutes que votre smartphone est dans votre poche ? Vous êtes perdu-e si vous sortez sans ? Vous vous sentez nu-e quand votre batterie est vide ? Alors peut-être êtes-vous nomophobe

La nomophobie : la peur du « no mobile phone »

Contraction récente de « no mobile phone » et phobie, ce serait une angoisse bien réelle d’après une étude menée au Royaume-Uni par l’institut de sondage YouGov en 2013. Selon elle, pas moins de 53 % des utilisateurs de téléphones mobiles montrent des symptômes d’anxiété quand ils perdent leur téléphone, l’oublient, n’ont pas de couverture réseau ou n’ont plus de batterie. 55 % des sondés révélaient avoir besoin de garder le contact avec leur famille ou leurs amis à tout moment. Et 10 % affirmaient avoir besoin d’être joignables à tout moment pour leur travail.

Devant l’ampleur du phénomène, des chercheurs de l’université d’État de l’Iowa ont développé un questionnaire pour cerner cette nomophobie. Comme le fameux questionnaire de dépendance au tabac, les scientifiques ont élaboré une vingtaine de questions pour déterminer votre seuil de dépendance au téléphone portable.

Et vous, si vous n’aviez pas votre smartphone avec vous ?

La nomophobie, la peur d’être séparé de son téléphone portable

En déterminant notre degré de dépendance, les chercheurs espèrent mieux comprendre s’il existe un terrain social, génétique ou structurelle à notre dépendance croissante aux téléphones portables.

La nomophobie aurait quatre dimensions : ne pas être en mesure de communiquer ; perdre sa connexion ; ne pas pouvouir accéder à l’information et renoncer au confort. Les chercheurs précisent que la nomophobie serait révélatrice non pas d’une forme d’addiction, mais d’une névrose.

Une autre étude, menée par Russell Clayton de l’Université du Missouri, révèle clairement que les petits ordinateurs que sont les téléphones portables sont devenus de véritables extensions de nous-mêmes, phénomène que l’accroissement de leurs capacité ne pourra que renforcer : ils seront bientôt encore plus rapides, auront plus de mémoire, pourront traduire en direct les langues étrangères, pourront commander toujours plus d’objets de notre vie quotidienne, jusqu’à nos ampoules et radiateurs connectés…(1)

Les recherches de Clayton montraient que les participants à ses travaux voyaient leur niveau d’anxiété, leur rythme cardiaque et leur niveau de pression artérielle augmenter lorsqu’ils étaient déconnectés de leur mobile, et qu’ils se sentaient en même temps psychologiquement diminués.

A lire aussi :Références :